(93)



REPUBLIC OF KENYA COUNTY GOVERNMENT OF MACHAKOS COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF MACHAKOS



County Hall
Along Mwatu wa Ngoma Rd
P O Box 1168 – 90100
MACHAKOS – KENYA
Third Assembly
(No. 093)

Email: assemblymks@gmail.com

Third Session (428)

THE COUNTY ASSEMBLY ORDER OF THE DAY TUESDAY, 13TH FEBRUARY, 2024 AT 10.00 A.M.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

PRAYERS

- 1. Administration of Oath
- 2. Communication from the Chair
- 3. Messages
- 4. Petitions
- 5. Papers
- 6. Notices of motion (As listed in Appendix)
- 7. Statements

8***MOTION – <u>APPROVAL OF MEMBERSHIP OF THE HOUSE BUSINESS COMMITEE</u>

(Hon. Nicholas Nzioka - MCA, Machakos Central Ward / Leader of Majority)

Honorable Speaker, that aware that the House Business Committee is established under the provisions of Standing Order No. 151(1) whose composition consists of the Speaker who shall be the chairperson, the Deputy Speaker, the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party; and not less than nine and not more than eleven other members, who shall be nominated by Assembly parties and approved by the House at the commencement of every Session; Aware that the Assembly Business Committee Membership should reflect the relative majorities of seats held by each of the Assembly parties in the Assembly and further aware that the nominations should take into consideration the interests of independents and the whips of each Assembly party; Further aware that Assembly parties have nominated members to serve in the House Business Committee;

Honorable Speaker, I wish to move the motion **THAT**, pursuant to the provisions of the Machakos County Assembly Standing Order 151 (1)(e), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following Members to the County Assembly Business Committee in addition to those specified under paragraphs (a), (b), (c) and (d): -

- 1. Hon. Raphael Lucky Nzau
- 2. Hon. Annastacia Mutevu

- 3. Hon. Dominic Maitha
- 4. Hon. Benjamin Kinyungu
- 5. Hon. Irene Mulu
- 6. Hon. Everlyne Nzeki
- 7. Hon. Francis Kavyu
- 8. Hon. Constance Mbula
- 9. Hon. Mercy Njagi
- 10. Hon. Paul Wambua
- 11. Hon. Boniface Katiti

The House adjourns to Tuesday, 13th February, 2024 at 2.30 p.m.

Denotes Order of the Day

APPENDIX (I) TUESDAY 13TH FEBRUARY 2024 AT 10.00 A.M.

1. NOTICES OF MOTION

(a) Notice of Motion: Hon. Nicholas Nzioka - MCA, Machakos Central Ward/Leader of Majority

Honorable Speaker, that aware that the House Business Committee is established under the provisions of Standing Order No. 151(1) whose composition consists of the Speaker who shall be the chairperson, the Deputy Speaker, the Leader of the Majority Party, the Leader of the Minority Party; and not less than nine and not more than eleven other members, who shall be nominated by Assembly parties and approved by the House at the commencement of every Session; Aware that the Assembly Business Committee Membership should reflect the relative majorities of seats held by each of the Assembly parties in the Assembly and further aware that the nominations should take into consideration the interests of independents and the whips of each Assembly party; Further aware that Assembly parties have nominated members to serve in the House Business Committee;

Honorable Speaker, I wish to give notice of motion **THAT**, pursuant to the provisions of the Machakos County Assembly Standing Order 151 (1)(e), this Assembly approves the appointment of the following Members to the County Assembly Business Committee in addition to those specified under paragraphs (a), (b), (c) and (d): -

- 1. Hon. Raphael Lucky Nzau
- 2. Hon. Annastacia Mutevu
- 3. Hon. Dominic Maitha
- 4. Hon. Benjamin Kinyungu
- 5. Hon. Irene Mulu
- 6. Hon. Everlyne Nzeki
- 7. Hon. Francis Kavyu
- 8. Hon. Constance Mbula
- 9. Hon. Mercy Njagi
- 10. Hon. Paul Wambua
- 11. Hon. Boniface Katiti

(b) Notice of Motion: Hon. Nicholas Nzioka - MCA, Machakos Central Ward/Leader of Majority

Honorable Speaker, that aware that the Committee on Powers and Privileges is established pursuant to Section 15(5) of the County Assemblies Powers and Privileges Act, 2017 and Standing Order No. 189(A); Further aware that the Committee comprises of the Speaker who shall be the Chairperson, Deputy Speaker and not more than three other Members nominated by Assembly parties and approved by the House at the commencement of every Session;

Informed that pursuant to Section 15(4) of the County Assemblies Powers and Privileges Act, 2017 the Committee is mandated to inquire into the conduct of a Member whose conduct is alleged to constitute a breach of privilege in terms of Section 16 of the said Act and Aware that Assembly parties have nominated Members to serve in the Committee;

Honorable Speaker, I wish to give notice of motion that **THAT** pursuant to Standing Order No. 189A this House approves the following members to Powers and Privileges Committee in addition to the specific members provided under Standing Order 189A (a) and (b);

- 1. Hon. Nicholas Nzioka
- 2. Hon. Constance Nzioki
- 3. Hon. Mary Nthenya

NOTICE PAPER

Tentative Business for

Tuesday 13th February, 2024 Afternoon Sitting

(Published pursuant to Standing Order 35(1))

It is notified that the following business is tentatively scheduled to appear in the Order Paper for Tuesday, 13th February, 2024 (Afternoon Sitting)

A. MOTION – <u>APPROVAL OF MEMBERSHIP OF THE POWERS AND PRIVILEGES</u> COMMITTEE

(Hon. Nicholas Nzioka - MCA, Machakos Central Ward/Leader of Majority)